

File: 0540-20

## Terms of Reference Comox Valley Water Committee

**Mission:** Established by Bylaw No. 1783 (adopted in 1996) and comprising directors from Baynes Sound (Electoral Area 'A'), Lazo North (Electoral Area 'B'), Puntledge – Black Creek (Electoral Area 'C'), the City of Courtenay and the Town of Comox, this committee considers matters relating to the administration and operation of the Comox Valley water system.

**Authority:** The Comox Valley water committee shall determine all policy related to the administration and operation of the Comox Valley water system and has the exclusive authority to approve or refuse the connection of any municipality or local service area under the *Local Government Act*, to the water system.

**Mandate:** The Comox Valley water committee will undertake those powers within its authority and provide advice to the board on matters pertaining to the administration and operation of the Comox Valley water system. The committee will provide advice and recommendations to the board where the committee cannot undertake the required actions, for example in adopting bylaws or entering contracts.

**Membership:** As a committee established by bylaw, the Comox Valley water committee is comprised of the following:

## Voting members:

- Director Wells (City of Courtenay)
- Director Swift (Town of Comox)
- Director Arbour (Baynes Sound Denman/Hornby Islands Electoral Area 'A')
- Director Hamir (Lazo North Electoral Area 'B')
- Director Grieve (Puntlege Black Creek Electoral Area 'C')
- Director Hillian (City of Courtenay)
- Director Morin (City of Courtenay)
- Director Frisch (City of Courtenay)
- Director Grant (Town of Comox)

## Non-voting members:

- Administrators of the regional district, the City of Courtenay and the Town of Comox
- Senior manager of operations of the City of Courtenay
- General manager of engineering services of the regional district
- Senior manager of operations of the Town of Comox
- K'òmoks First Nation Representative

**Committee chair:** The committee shall elect a chair and vice-chair from amongst its members at the first meeting of each year using a weighted vote pursuant to the regulations set out in Bylaw No. 1783 and subsequent committee policy statements.

**Resources:** The CAO will determine and assign a staff member as an advisor to the committee. If necessary, a recording secretary may also be appointed. The committee will also be accorded a budget to cover meeting expenses, meals/coffee, photocopying and other related activities.

**Tenure:** This committee is established by bylaw and as such will be deemed to be continuous. Membership will be subject to local government elections each four years or at the pleasure of council appointments.

**Reporting:** The Comox Valley water committee will provide its minutes to the corporate legislative officer within 48 hours of any committee meeting. Where the board feels it is necessary, the committee may be asked to meet with the board and brief the board on an issue(s) within its purview. This invitation shall be extended to the chair of the committee as the representative of the committee.

Contact with the Media: Any contact with the media regarding issues related to the work of this committee shall be handled by the committee chair or shall be referred by the chair of the committee to the CVRD chair of the board. If the matter under questioning by the media deals with CVRD board policy around issues related to the work of this committee, the matter shall be referred to the chair of the board. The chief administrative officer and general manager of corporate services will provide assistance and / or guidance to the chair of the board and committee chair in responding to the media.

**Voting:** Voting at the committee and at the CVRD board is pursuant to the regulations set out in Bylaw No. 1783 and subsequent committee policy statements and require an annual application of the water consumed in each participant area, resulting in the entitlement being:

(a)	City of Courtenay	7 votes
(b)	Town of Comox	3 votes
(c)	Electoral Area 'A'	1 vote
(d)	Electoral Area 'B'	1 vote
(e)	Electoral Area 'C'	1 vote

The 2017 voting structure will be confirmed by January 25, 2017.

Where more than one director is representing a participant area, the council must assign the municipality's votes to each director as evenly as possible, but in no case may the difference between the maximum and minimum number of votes assigned be greater than one.

**Water systems:** The Comox Valley water system supplies bulk water to the City of Courtenay, the Town of Comox and the Arden, Comox Valley, Greaves Crescent, England Road and Marsden/ Camco local services areas.